IB LogoAVID Logo


IB LogoAVID Logo

Grading and Assessment

Grading & Assessment


  • There are eight subject groups in the MYP: Arts, Design, Individuals & Societies, Language Acquisition, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Physical & Health Education, and Sciences. 
  • Each subject group has its own mandated criteria that are public, precise, and should be known to students and parents in advance.
  • Each criteria has descriptors to identify  students’ achievement levels against established assessment criteria.  
  • Criteria are assessed on a 0-8 scale:
IB MYP Performance Level Descriptors
0 did not meet any of the descriptors below.
1-2 I showed little understanding of the subject specific objectives.
3-4 I showed average understanding of the subject specific objectives
5-6 I showed proficient understanding of the subject specific objectives
7-8 I showed excellent understanding (above and beyond) of the subject


PSD does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, ancestry, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, marital status, veteran status, age or disability in access or admission to, or treatment or employment in, its programs or activities. A lack of English speaking skills will not be a barrier to admission or participation.